Redirect to an IP instead of dropping the connection.

Here you could request a feature you would like to see in WifiKill
Post Reply
Zalastax
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:13 am

Redirect to an IP instead of dropping the connection.

Post by Zalastax » Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:18 am

I would like to send the people that I block to a specific IP instead of dropping their Internet, it would be like the send to localhost feature but without rejecting their request. Is that possible? Would it create a loop, so that even if they visit the IP I sent them to they will get redirected again?


User avatar
ponury
Posts: 1199
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:19 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Redirect to an IP instead of dropping the connection.

Post by ponury » Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:35 pm

It can be done easily but please remember that most websites use vhosts instead IP.

So the ip for... www.engadget.com is 195.93.80.36
But when you visit that ip: http://195.93.80.36/ it isn't what you expect isn't it? :-)

Zalastax
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 7:13 am

Re: Redirect to an IP instead of dropping the connection.

Post by Zalastax » Sun Oct 23, 2011 3:53 pm

I sure know that.
That's because they have a DNS server that handles many domains. But I have an IP-adress that redirects to where I want. The IP I am thinking of is 81.161.216.150 but I hope I can find more.
Will all traffic go through the mobile (like a proxy) or will the data go straight back to the recipient?

I love your apps, keep doing what you are doing!

User avatar
ponury
Posts: 1199
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:19 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Redirect to an IP instead of dropping the connection.

Post by ponury » Sun Oct 23, 2011 5:14 pm

The data would go through the device (not like a proxy more like a router), so there might be a delay. I'll think of this and maybe add as an option.

d3death
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: Redirect to an IP instead of dropping the connection.

Post by d3death » Wed Oct 26, 2011 3:12 am

one more suggestion to add to the current one. Can we give both ip and port? Like we have "Use iptables + redirect to 127.0.0.1:1" can we give ip and port of our choice?

User avatar
ponury
Posts: 1199
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 11:19 pm
Location: Poland
Contact:

Re: Redirect to an IP instead of dropping the connection.

Post by ponury » Wed Oct 26, 2011 5:21 am

d3death wrote:one more suggestion to add to the current one. Can we give both ip and port? Like we have "Use iptables + redirect to 127.0.0.1:1" can we give ip and port of our choice?
That won't be hard to modify. I'll update it in the next version.

Post Reply